Voting for Cook County Judges 2014

Below is the list of Cook County Judges up for retention or election on Tuesday, November 4, 2014, followed by a recommendation on how to vote.  This recommendation is compiled from a variety of sources.

The primary source of is input from a number of progressive attorneys working in Cook County Courts.  This group of attorneys includes dozens of lawyers practicing in tenants and housing law, criminal defense, civil rights, consumer law and a other areas of public interest law.  Most of their clients are poor, working class and people of color and their recommendations are based on whether they feel their clients can get a fair trial in front of these judges.

These recommendations are also cross-referenced against recommendations from major bar associations, with links below.  If there is not a recommendation next to the judge’s name, that means they were found “Qualified” by the bar associations, but there was not any additional information about them to make a recommendation.

Alliance of Bar Associations Recommendations– Compilation of various bar associations
Chicago Bar Association– Detailed descriptions about judges

Thomas Hoffman YES

Mauricio Araujo YES
Edward A. Arce YES
Andrew Berman YES
Margaret Ann Brennan NO
Eileen Mary Brewer NO
Janet Adams Brosnahan NO
James Brown YES
Eileen O’Neill Burke NO
Thomas J. Byrne YES
Diane Gordon Cannon NO
Evelyn B. Clay YES
Mary Ellen Coghlan YES
Ann Collins-Dole YES
Donna L. Cooper YES
Clayton J. Crane YES
Anna Helen Demacopoulos YES
Lynn Marie Egan NO
Candace Jean Fabri YES
Peter A. Felice NO
Thomas E. Flanagan NO
James Patrick Flannery YES
John J. Fleming YES
Rodolfo (Rudy) Garcia YES
James J. Gavin YES
Robert E. Gordon YES
Margarita Kulys Hoffman YES
Michael B. Hyman YES
Marilyn F. Johnson YES
Rickey Jones YES
Themis N. Karnezis NO
Kathleen G. Kennedy YES
Kerry M. Kennedy YES
Diana L. Kenworthy YES
Maureen Ward Kirby YES
William G. Lacy NO
Marjorie C. Laws YES
Casandra Lewis NO
Thomas J. Lipscomb YES
Pamela Elizabeth Loza NO
Patricia Manila Martin YES
Mary Anne Mason YES
Veronica B. Mathein
Sheila McGinnis NO
Dennis Michael McGuire NO
Kathleen Marie McGury YES
Lewis Nixon YES
William Timothy O’Brien NO
Annie O’Donnell NO
James N. O’Hara NO
Sebastian Thomas Patti YES
Edmund Ponce De Leon YES
Jackie Marie Portman YES
Joan E. Powell YES
James L. Rhodes YES
James G. Riley YES
Anita Rivkin-Carothers YES
Pat Rogers NO
Dominique C. Ross
Kristyna Colleen Ryan YES
Patrick J. Sherlock
Laura Marie Sullivan NO
Donald J. Suriano
Shelley Lynn Sutker-Dermer YES
Michael P. Toomin YES
Sandra Tristano YES
Valarie E. Turner NO
Raul Vega NO
Kenneth J. Wadas YES
Debra B. Walker YES
Ursula Walowski YES
Gregory Joseph Wojkowski YES
Frank G. Zelezinski NO
Appellate Court (Vacancy of Gordon) Shelly A. Harris 65 YES
Appellate Court (Vacancy of Murphy) David Ellis 66 YES
Appellate Court (Vacancy of Steele) John B. Simon 67 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Arnold) Bridget Anne Mitchell 68 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Burke) Maritza Martinez 69 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Connors) Kristal Rivers 70 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Egan) Daniel J. Kubasiak 71 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Phelps Felton) Patricia O’Brien Sheahan 72 NO
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Howse, Jr.) Caroline Kate Moreland 73 NO
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Lowrance) Thomas J. Carroll 74 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of McDonald) Cynthia Y. Cobbs 75 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Neville, Jr.) William B. Raines 76 YES
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Reyes) Diana Rosario 77 NO
Circuit Court (Vacancy of Hill Veal) Andrea Michele Buford 78 YES
2nd Subcircuit (Vac of O’Neal) Steven G. Watkins 80 YES
3rd Subcircuit (Vac of Donnelly) Terrence J. McGuire 80 NO
7th Subcircuit (Vac of Hardy-Campbell) Robert D. Kuzas 80 YES
7th Subcircuit (Vac of Taylor) Judy Rice 82 NO
9th Subcircuit (Vac of Goldberg) Megan Elizabeth Goldish 80 NO
9th Subcircuit (Vac of Meyer) Anjana Hansen 82 NO
9th Subcircuit (Vac of Preston) Abbey Fishman Romanek 83 YES
10th Subcircuit (Add’l Judge A) Anthony C. “Tony” Kyriakopoulos 80 YES
11th Subcircuit (Add’l Judge A) Pamela McLean Meyerson 80 YES
12th Subcircuit (Vac of Edward Jordan) James Paul Pieczonka NO